Skip to main content

NACO's 94th AGM!

Last week NACO held it's 94th Annual General Meeting at the Thistle Hotel, East Midlands Airport. The event was preceded by a Presidents Dinner, and attended by delegates from throughout the co-operative movement.

The NACO Executive was joined by NACO members representing constituencies from Robert Owen Group, Co-operative Group, Midlands Co-operative and many more.

The Presidents Dinner provided the opportunity for delegates to get to know each other away from the formal setting of the AGM and culminated with a Race Night in aid of the President's Charity, Help for Heroes.

NACO's 2011 AGM commenced at 9am on Wednesday 18th May with an introduction from Ann Breen, NACO President 2010/11; followed by Neil Buist, NACO General Secretary, discussing the role and future of the Association; and by Lynne Higginbottom, NACO's Finance & Office Manager, to review the financial position of the trade union.

Two motions were passed at the AGM - to accept the new NACO rule book in it's entirety, and to slightly increase NACO full-member subscriptions from £213.72/annum to £216.84 with effect from 1st January 2012

The formal AGM concluded with the induction of the NACO president for 2011-12, Karen Froggatt.

Following the AGM there was a Members Meeting giving NACO members the opportunity to invite 2 guest speakers - Gareth Thomas, leader of the Parliamentary Co-operative Party, and Jane Harris, Volunteer Co-coordinator for NACO's 2010-11 Presidents Charity, Help for Heroes.

With continued effort and support throughout the year NACO President 2010-11, Ann Breen, was delighted to hand over a cheque to Jane Harris of Help For Heroes for £5,500.

Click here to download the AGM 2011 slides.